Mario Avati. L'art de la manière

February 20 - March 29, 2014

Mario Avati (1921-2009) is together with Kyoshi Hasegawa and Yozo Hamaguchi one of the most significant practitioners of our times of the art of mezzotint (manière noire). 

 

After having studied at the École nationale des arts décoratifs in Nice and at the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts in Paris, Avati started with etching and aquatint, but turned in 1957 to the difficult mezzotint technique, thereby contributing to its revival. His mastery of mezzotint is mainly expressed in his remarkable still lifes, everyday items such as fruits, eggs, flowers and musical instruments. These objects with firm contours bask in the splendor of their own light, or in a mysterious chiaroscuro.

More than thirty exhibitions in Europe, the U.S.A. and Japan, five films of his work, as well as book illustrations including Baudelaire, Lewis Carroll and the Bible testify to his international reputation.

His works are found in many museums around the world. In France he is represented in some thirty institutions including the Chalcographie of the Louvre Museum,  and abroad at the Art Institute of Chicago, the Museum of Modern Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the National Gallery in Washington, the Victoria and Albert Museum, Gabinetto delle Stampe degli Uffizi in Florence, the National Library of Madrid, the Tokyo Museum, the Museum of Art in Johannesburg as well as in important private collections.

He has won numerous awards: the Prix de la critique, Paris (1957), the Gold Medal of the 1st Biennial of engraving in Florence (1969), the Lions Club Award, Florence (1972), the Grand Prix de la Ville de Paris (1981), the Nahed Ojjeh  prize of the Académie des beaux-arts (1997).

In 2013 the Mario Avati Award, created according to the will of Helen Avati, was created under the auspices of the French Academy (l'Académie des Beaux-Arts). This international prize will be awarded annually to an established artist.

Two heritage exhibitions of Mario Avati's work will take place in 2014, one at the Centre de l'image imprimée, Louvière (Belgium), and the other in the Musée départemental de l'Oise, Beauvais.

Mario Avati. L'art de la manière

20 Février - 29 Mars 2014

Mario Avati. Les yeux bleus de Michel, 1976

Mario Avati (1921-2009) est avec Kyoshi Hasegawa et Yozo Hamaguchi un des praticiens les plus singuliers de la technique de la "manière noire" à l'époque contemporaine. 

 

Après des études à l'École nationale des arts décoratifs de Nice et à l'École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris, Mario Avati s'intéresse à la gravure à l'eau forte et à l'aquatinte, mais il s'oriente à partir de 1957 vers la difficile technique de la manière noire qu'il contribue à relancer.   Sa grande maîtrise  s'exprime surtout dans ses remarquables natures mortes, objets de son quotidien : fruits, œufs, fleurs, animaux, instruments de musique, dans une parfaite harmonie, objets aux contours fermes, dans l'éclat de leur propre lumière ou dans un clair-obscur mystérieux.

Sa renommée internationale est confirmée par plus de trente expositions  en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Japon, cinq films sur son œuvre, ainsi que des illustrations de livres notamment de Baudelaire, Lewis Carroll et la Bible.

Ses œuvres sont présentes dans les très nombreux musées du monde entier, en France dans une trentaine d'institutions dont la Chalcographie du Musée du Louvre, et à l'étranger à l'Art Institute de  Chicago, au Museum of Modern Art et au Metropolitan Museum of Art à New York,  à la National Gallery de Washington, au Victoria and Albert Museum,  au Gabinetto delle Stampe degli Uffizi à Florence, à la Bibliothèque Nationale de Madrid, au Musée de Tokyo, au Museum of Art de  Johannesburg, ainsi que dans d'importantes collections privées.

Il est lauréat de nombreux prix : Prix de la critique, Paris (1957), Médaille d'or de la 1ère biennale de la gravure de Florence (1969), Prix du Lions Club, Florence (1972), Grand prix des arts de la Ville de Paris  (1981), prix Nahed Ojjeh de l'Académie des beaux-arts (1997).

En 2013 le prix de gravure Mario Avati, crée selon la volonté d'Helen Avati, a été décerné pour la première fois sous l'égide de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts. D'envergure internationale, le prix récompensera chaque année un artiste confirmé.

Deux expositions patrimoniales de l'oeuvre de Mario Avati sont prévues en 2014, l'une au Centre de l'image imprimée de la Louvière (Belgique), l'autre au Musée départemental de l'Oise à Beauvais.